Astor Piazzolla – Libertango (1974)

YouTube – AmazoniTunesDiscogs

Astor Piazzolla

Written and played on bandoneon by an Argentine composer Ástor Piazzolla, ‘Libertango’ is tango classic. But I didn’t know that when I first heard the tune as the backdrop to Grace Jones’s ‘I’ve Seen That Face Before’ – her spoken journey through a Parisian nightlife. It was the mid 1980s and Jones’ 1981 album Nightclubbing remained an art-dance-pop template. That was many moons ago and I am now more drawn to the source. Those familiar with my blog will know that I am quite taken with the sound of the accordion – my ignorance means that I should really include the concertina, bayan and bandoneon in my broad definition. The latter provides a wonderful accompaniment to Yo-Yo Ma’s cello from his 1997 homage to Ástor Piazzolla.

 

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Astor Piazzolla – Libertango (1974)

Leave a Reply

