The KLF – Wichita Lineman Was A Song I Once Heard (1990)

YouTube – No Amazon – No iTunes – Discogs

KLF Chill Out

You will notice that I don’t have a country music category. I conveniently call Willie Nelson easy listening and would call Uncle Tupelo americana. I think I must have a problem with the stuff in between. But I love the culture the music calls upon. Having marked the world of house music with their proto-trance tracks of the late 1980s, The KLF agreed and put their single hands to kickstarting a trend for the ambient. Their album Chill Out used house music as an echo to an American journey. (The KLF’s Jim Cauty drove around London in a 1968 Ford Galaxie American police car.) The ‘Wichita Lineman…’ also had humour, reminiscent of Malcolm McLaren. Together with Cauty’s work as The Orb, this brew gave birth to “ambient house” and the ubiquitous Enigma project.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “The KLF – Wichita Lineman Was A Song I Once Heard (1990)

  1. JB says:

    Not really for me, I’m afraid. 3am Eternal, Last Train to Transcentral and What Time is Love ? work for me but not the ambient stuff. Perhaps that is why I got rid of my cassette copy of “1987 What the F**k’s Going On” in a fit of spring cleaning 15 years ago. Would be worth a fortune now…

  2. batesyla says:

    Ok. Fingers crossed this posts!

    When I saw this email come in this morning my first thought was how can you pull out a section of this album I was almost angry. So I promptly downloaded it from iCloud and listen to it on my way to work. I resisted the temptation to post there and then, thankfully!

    The first feeling was the tingling from nostalgic memories of falling to sleep to this record most nights at uni. But it has aged over the last 23 years… Oh I feel old. It does not hold together as we’ll as I remember as one track the progressions are a lot more obvious now. I felt let down by memories so decided that it must be the superior quality of my atomic floyd headphones vs. the early nineties ghetto blaster but I was kidding myself.

    After all that I do prefer the first half but I am going to listen to my orb collection tomorrow as I think this may have stood the test of time better. We shall see!

    Oh on the twisted genius of Drummond and Cauty can we have recognition of their work as the timelords please mr Samuel?

Leave a Reply

