Mercury Rev – Holes (1998)

YouTubeAmazoniTunes

I’ve mentioned them this week, so I thought I would elaborate. Mercury Rev released Deserter’s Songs to great acclaim in 1998. I recall first hearing the album and being completely taken aback. So much so that when I went to see them live in ensuing years, they never lived up to that initial moment, as exemplified by ‘Holes’. The long player’s opening track, its symphonic arrangements were perfectly layered over Jonathan Donahue’s extraordinary falsetto. That’s hard to reenact in the Brixton Academy.

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Mercury Rev – Holes (1998)

  1. DJ PJ says:

    Oooh I know I’m about 13 years behind but I quite like this….

  2. Marv says:

    I like this too. Never heard it before but then again I’ve never given the radio a chance to play this type of music to me.

Leave a Reply

