Kanye West feat. Rick Ross – Devil In A New Dress (2010)

YouTube – Amazon – iTunesDiscogs

From the sublime album My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, I have chosen ‘Devil In A New Dress’, but it could have been any one of a half dozen tracks. With its repeating piano chord and smooth Smokey Robinson vocal sample, Kanye and Rick Ross rap a story about love and the other stuff. Some may find the lyrics trite; for me, they just make me smile…  “I hit the Jamaican spot at the bar, take a seat, I ordered you jerk, she said ‘You are what you eat'”

(MOMENT ALERT: piano at circa 2:50.)

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Kanye West feat. Rick Ross – Devil In A New Dress (2010)

  1. Chinaman says:

    Ain’t nothing wrong with a little repackaging.

  2. DJ PJ says:

    This is so far removed from Hip Hop that I don’t recognise this as such. Not bad but squarely hits the middle class white button for the record label.

Leave a Reply

